Adventures with Friends Prt. 2

My sister and parents are coming to San Francisco this weekend!  I’m eager to see them, as I have not for the nearly 3 months since I’ve moved.  This is the longest I’ve been away from my family so far, and I must say I think I’ve been doing admirably.  That being said, I spent a good portion of tonight cleaning my apartment, hoping it lasts through the weekend and gets mom approval.

Since my next post is sure to be about Adventures with Family, I’ll use this one to finish up Adventuress with Friends.  Let’s see . . .

. . . Thursday Sara and I got going a bit sluggishly, but finally made it out the door and headed to Fisherman’s Wharf to meet Holly.  Unfortunately, we got a bit lost.  We needed to get off in downtown and change from the subway to a trolley, but thought we changed at the end of the line.  So we backtracked back to downtown to wait for the trolley.  It was almost 1 pm already and poor Holly had been waiting a while.  So we went against my penny-pinching nature and took a cab to Fisherman’s Wharf.

Although an active wharf, Fisherman’s Wharf is a big tourist attraction.  It has shops, restaurants, crowds of people, shitty street performers, a wax museum, and other useless pursuits. What this has to do with Italian crab fishermen during the gold rush is beyond me.  For clam chowder, we went to Boudin Bakery, one of the first makers of sourdough bread and now a huge chain and a tourist attraction in itself.  The lines were long, and the pop music off-putting, but it moved fast and before long we were chowing down on clam chowder in bread bowls.  For those of you who haven’t experienced this, first imagine a loaf of tangy sourdough bread.  And now imagine someone took out the middle and filled it with piping hot, creamy clam chowder.  It’s simply the best way to have it.  As you eat the soup, you can scrape the sides of the bowl and get soft mushy bits of sourdough in with your soup.  I have to stop, I’m making myself hungry!

Once we could fit no more sourdough in our stomachs, we strolled over to Ghiradelli Square.  Along the way, we passed several artisans and Sara bought a few more pairs of earrings.  I’ve been to Ghiradelli Square a few times, but it’s just not my thing.  It is way too touristy.  I love Ghiradelli chocolate, who doesn’t, so if I do go to Ghiradelli Square, I get my free sample from the chocolate shop and get the hell out of there, away from the throngs of people and bad jazz music.  However Sara had heard from various friends that to have an ice cream sundae at the Ghiradelli ice cream shop is a must-do in San Francisco, so Holly and I gamely accompanied.  Eyeing the menu, still full of soup, we figured a sundae would be way to much, and just went with a scoop of ice cream and fudge and some salted caramel hot chocolates.  Like Boudin, there were long lines, but they seemed to move pretty quick.  Finding a table was a bit of a challenge, but Holly wisely asked a family that looked done if we could have there table, and we sat down just a few minutes later to wait for our order.  And waited.  For an hour and a half.  For 3 hot chocolates and a scoop of ice cream.  At the 45 minute mark I asked about our order, trying to keep my bitch face in check, and again 20 minutes after that.  I guess our order had been lost?  It was all busy and confusing, and we were all starting to get headaches and naseuated from breathing in the layer of sugar in the air for so long.  Finally, we got our order. . . . and it was delicious.  Salted caramel is such an amazing combination by itself, made better by hot chocolate.  The ice cream was smothered in dark chocolate hot fudge which made for a bittersweet combination.  All in all though, I’m not sure it was worth such a wait.  But now I can say I’ve had ice cream at Ghiradelli’s!

Afterwards, we had to walk that shit off stat.  What better place than in San Francisco, city of hills and crooked streets!  We met up with Zac, who had just come from getting his first tutoring job (yay!), and rambled on.  We hit up Lombard Street, the quintessential crooked street, and walked around Chinatown, where we had to stop at Quickly for boba and fries.  If you haven’t noticed, a Quickly stop with Zac and I is mandatory!  It’s cheap, filling, and delicious.  We also introduced Sara to City Lights, one of the best bookstores in San Francisco as mentioned in an earlier post, Little Explorations in a New World.  While we were there, Holly had been taking a dance class at the Actor’s Conservatory Theater, so we swung by to pick her up and together we walked through the city as the night began to fall.

Somehow the only photo I took all day was us at Quickly. . .

One thing Sara is particularly good at is bringing people together.  In high school, she knew everybody, and has kept in touch with about 98% of them.  So since she was in town, she miraculously tracked down a few other old friends who were now living in San Francisco, and we all met up with them at the Bigfoot Lodge on Polk Street.  I knew Bigfoot Lodge previously from the one in Los Feliz in LA, and love it.  What’s not to love about a bar themed like a hunting lodge, complete with animal heads and sasquatch statues that serves local beers on tap and has $2 PBR?  It was amazing to see Laney and Kyna.  We were all friends back in high school drama, and it was great to realize that those friendships we made then were lasting ones.  That night I realized that I’ve been lacking a support group.  I’ve been meeting some great people, but making friends is happening more slowly than I’d like. I t was wonderful to walk into a bar, sit now with people I haven’t seen in years, and to feel like no time has passed.  I realized that I already had a group of friends up here without even knowing it.  We pledged to get together again, so after I pick my twin sister Mel up from the airport tomorrow we’re going to do Bigfoot Lodge again.  It shall be another memorable evening I’m sure!

Until the next adventure,

Good Luck and Happy Travels

Mo

Leave a Reply

