Victory Thursday

Back in LA, my friend Joseph introduced me to the concept of Victory Thursday.  We only did it a few times, but we would go out for a midnight bite and talk about our little victories for the week.  He learned of Victory Thursday from a friend, but I will refrain from speaking of it’s origins as I know I will mess something up.  But it is a Thing.

Last Thursday when I posted requesting help and advice from all of you, I was not having a Victory Thursday.  This Thursday is much different, and a great reminder of how quickly things can turn around.

First victory:  I have come into some money!  Little bits to be sure, but little bits add up.  I finally got a raise at Sephora.  When I was hired in LA, I was offered a competitive rate that was a few dollars above minimum wage.  When I moved to San Francisco, the minimum wage here is higher, but no longer was my pay rate.  Now it was a few cents above minimum.  Last week I had my review, and my boss was astonished that I was getting paid so little.  I was prepared to pitch to her how worthy I was, but I never had too.  She went straight to the district manager and the next day, my raise for a whole dollar was approved.  Hooray!

Second victory:  The day after finding out about the raise, I recieved a call from Patrick, the artistic director at Shotgun Players.  Shotgun Players is a theater company in Berekely that a director in LA recommended I check out.  I’ve been emailing them for a little while now to try to get involved and volunteer with them.  Their current show, a new piece called Truffaldino Says No, involves some elaborate commedia delle arte costumes that are a little high matinience and needed some repairs.  Yesterday I voyaged across the bridge to Berkeley to mend rips, buttons, and codpieces.  Ha ha, codpieces.  I’m mature.  It was actually simple work and a lot of fun.  The best part was they paid me $16 an hour (better than my day job!) to do work that I would have done for free.  Plus, I’m going to go out there again this weekend to see the show for free.  Another hooray!

Third victory:  As you all know, I have been moping about venues and social situations in which to meet like-minded individuals.  I really appreciate all of your advice and kind words.  It’s great knowing that I have such a great support group here on wordpress.  Zac, the resident man in my life, also had a great suggestion: meetup.com.  Meetup is exactly like it sounds, a place where people form groups and make events and meet up.  No matter what your interests or demographic are, there’s a meetup group for you.  The one that piqued my interest the most was “I love to crochet, but I’m no Betty White”, for young people who love to knit and crochet.  Like me!!!  I joined the group and went to their latest event last Sunday at this wonderful European-style cafe called Cafe du Soleil.  There were about 6 other girls in their mid 20’s through mid ’30’s with yarn and needles, chatting and sipping wine and beer.  I was definitely nervous, but grabbed a Wyder’s cider from the bar to quell my nerves and got my yarn out.  Before long though, I felt like one of the group and had a great time.  They meet up every Sunday and I plan on going again.  Yet another hooray!

Fourth victory:  Traffic on my Etsy.com shop is starting to heat up.  I sell vintage clothing and accesories, as well as handmade items that I craft out of t-shirts and found fabric.  Over the past month or so, I beefed up the listings that I have on there and added more.  I’ve also noticed more  people “favoriting” my listings, which is great since it draws more attention to them.  Today I finally had another sale!  It’s only the third item I’ve sold, but it’s not been that long since my last sale.  A little black dress from the ’70’s that I had listed will now be lovingly wrapped up and shipped to Sade Lahti in Finland.  Many hoorays!

Final victory:  I finished the Hunger Games series today.  I know most people read the whole series in a week since they are so gripping and easy to read, but it’s taken me a few months.  I read the first two steadily and then put off reading the third for a while since I didn’t want the series to end.  I guess subconciously the suspense was killing me, and I devoured it in four days.  I’m not going to talk about what happened for anyone who hasn’t read it, but when I finally laid down the book a few hours ago I had to curl up and have a good cry.  It’s a postapocalyptic downer of a book, but I wept more for realease than from sadness. It’s been a while since I’ve read anything as compelling, engrossing, and suspenseful and it sucks that I can’t continue to have that in my life on a daily basis.  It’s everything that I like wrapped into three books.  It’s a coming of age tale, a romance novel, a sci-fi drama, a morality tale, a thriller – I could go on about how much I loved reading these books.  Most profoundly though, is what Suzanne Collins says about our own culture and our obsession with celebrity, entertainment, and media, and the dark road that such blindness leads to.  I have always loved reading, and it’s through being an active reader that has lead me to be the creative individual I am today.  An epic hooray!

So as you can see, it’s been quite the victorious week.  And what of you?  Share your week’s victories, both Little and Large, in the comments below.

Good Luck and Happy Travels,

Mo

12 thoughts on “Victory Thursday

  1. Mo,

    Glad you had a better week, you deserve the very best that life can serve you. You are making smart choices and letting your fabulous aura help out a little too. Talk to you soon.

    dad

  2. Sam

    I am super excited that you got a raise!!! It sounds like you had a great week! I am so excited for you…especially the costume work ..that is awesome! It will all work out…I have been living in Boston now for 3 years and it finally feels like home. I think the first year is hard, but it seems to sort itself out.

    1. Thanks Sam! That’s really good to know. Now that I’m settling in more, things have been really up and down, but hopefully last week was a sign that I’m on an upward trend!

  3. Mo, yeah for all your victories. I checked out your store…love the red coat! Too small in the bust or I’d be buying it! I opened an Etsy store in February and have been having a lot of fun with it. You might want to start a “Favorites List” and create a few “Treasury Lists” to get more visibility.

Leave a Reply

